FREE 2-Part Webinar Series on Communication Development

Date:

February 28, 2018

Time:

12pm PT / 1pm MT / 2pm CT/ 3pm ET

60 minutes

Description:

This presentation, Part 1 of 2 webinars on communication development for families and professionals, will provide a rationale for the argument that all learners communicate—not that they can learn to communicate, but that they already do. The presenter will discuss the importance of meeting a child where he or she is and consistently responding to behavior in a predictable way. Part 2 of this series will be held on March 21.

The webinar is free and registration is not required.

Presenter:

Susan M. Bashinski, Associate Professor and Graduate Program Coordinator at Missouri Western State University

Learning Objectives:

  • Explain one way in which 3 or 4 of the key “Communication Reminders” discussed in the webinar can be part of one’s own daily life practice.
  • Describe elements of a routine that can make a critical contribution to a child’s ability to feel sufficiently safe and secure to reach out to those around her in a communicative manner.
  • Contrast the differences between (a) nonsymbolic and symbolic and (b) non-intentional and intentional communication.

Click here for an informational flyer and additional information. https://nationaldb.org/events/detail/webinars/0/1473