Grief Support for Families of Children with Deaf-Blindness

For PDF flyer of the following information click here.

Sensing Connections – Level 1: Peer-to-Peer Grief Support for Families of Children with
Deaf-Blindness

These web-based, peer-to-peer meetings allow parents who have lost a child an opportunity to process their
grief and learn coping strategies that have helped others. The meetings will be held on Wednesday evenings at
5:30 PT/6:30 MT/7:30 CT/8:30 ET for 90 minutes. We ask interested parents to commit to the entire 6-month
series (10 total meetings). Enrollment is free. All participants are sent a participant packet with descriptions of
the topics that will be covered at each meeting and suggested resources.

If you are interested in joining this group, please contact: Molly Black, Family Consultant for the Pennsylvania Deaf-Blind Project – mblack@pattan.net, or register online by visiting this link. 

Group Meeting – Dates – Topic: 
Session 1 – September 9, 2020 – Welcome
Session 2 – September 23, 2020 – Weaving Through Grief
Session 3 – October 7, 2020 – Grieving as a Juggling Act
Session 4 – October 21, 2020 – “I Wish I Would Have…”
Session 5 – November 11, 2020 – Safety and Grief
Session 6 – December 2, 2020 – Internal and External Pressures
Session 7 – December 16, 2020 – Food, Fellowship, and Sharing
Session 8 – January 6, 2021 – Impact of Loss on Your Health and Well-Being
Session 9 – January 20, 2021 – Tribute Night
Session 10 – February 10, 2021 – Pearls of Wisdom

Sensing Connections – Level 2: A Community of Families Celebrating their Loved Ones
with Deaf-Blindness

These web-based, peer-to-peer meetings are intended for individuals who have completed the Level-1 sessions
and want continued peer support. Meetings occur once a month on Wednesday evenings for 60 minutes. Group
members can attend any meetings of interest to them, but unlike the Level-1 group meetings, are not asked to
commit to all. Enrollment is free. Members share responsibility for determining discussion topics and assist in
leading the meetings. Some meetings will feature guest speakers, journaling and/or review of books, as
determined by the group

Additional Resources:
For information about additional sources of support, see Resources for Grieving Families by clicking this link.